top of page

WHAT TO EXPECT: INDOOR MATERNITY PHOTO SESSION

WHAT TO EXPECT: INDOOR MATERNITY PHOTO SESSION

One awesome thing about having an indoor studio space is I can offer my clients beautiful images all year long no matter the weather! Being in the studio allows everyone to be a bit more comfortable with the more risqué style of photos and showing off the belly also. When you come into my Huntington studio, my hope is that you are comfortable! The relationship between photographer & client is one I highly value. When you and I connect, magic ensues. Here are my top 8 tips to ensure you the best experience possible.

LESS IS ALWAYS MORE.

No need for bulky outfits or lots of layers. A simple dress or maternity gown can create simple and beautiful images

DON’T BE AFRAID TO SHOW SOME SKIN

I strongly feel a pregnant body is the most beautiful time in a woman’s life. You are carrying a life and bringing a blessing into the world.Why not embrace the skin your in and show it off? Now I don’t mean you have to go full frontal nude but showing your belly and letting that pregnancy glow shine!

NETURAL COLORS WORK BEST

I am a big fan of natural tones, browns, dark colors like navy or burgundy, blush, cream, white. Which ever complements your skin tone.

PAMPER YOURSELF BEFORE YOUR SESSION!

Go and get your hair and make up done. Get a mani/pedi as well! Pamper yourself to where you feel like you could take on the modeling world with your confidence! When you feel beautiful and confident it really does shine through in your mood during your session. Plus, letting the pros do their thing will take some added stress off you to get ready.

LET ME KNOW YOUR VISION

When I first meet with a potential client, I like to get to know them on a personal level. I find when you met with someone prior to the session it takes away some nerves of meeting a stranger who is going to probably make you feel a little weird when they get up in your personal space. Sometime scheduling an in-person meeting prior can be a challenge with everyone’s busy lives. Understandable. What I ask clients to do is find 5 or so images either on my site or things like Pinterest that speaks to them. You may like the pose or the outfit or maybe the scenery. Getting what you want is my goal and when I can gain some kind of feel for your style, it helps me be sure to deliver on my part.

GET YOUR MAN ON BOARD

In my experience most dads to be are usually just along for the ride to make mom happy. But some guys are camera shy & lets face it, they can be a session breaker. He is probably unaware at how much these pictures mean to you as a mom. But show him your ideas like I mentioned in tip #5. Talk to him and see if he has posing ideas or wants to include something of his interest in your session.*** Side Note: I really LOVE cars, so hint hint to anyone with a classic car…

EAT BEFORE YOUR SESSION!!!!

I can’t stress this tip enough!!! We will more then likely be doing a lot of standing and moving during your session. I do not want you to risk you or baby’s healthy by not making sure you are good to go. I am constantly asking moms how they are doing and offering a rest period if I feel like mom is needing it. Do NOT hesitate to speak up when you need a break! Bringing water or a snack to your session is highly recommended. I also do offer bottled water and snacks in my studio

HAVE FUN & ENJOY YOUR SESSION

Your about to welcome a sweet lil bundle into your life, how could you not be super excited? For some mommas to be this time could be the only chance they get for maternity photos & it should be celebrated. I encourage silliness, dancing like a crazy person, and just being you!

While I can’t photograph every baby bump, I am happy you are considering a session with me. I personally never had maternity photos taken and my biggest regret is NOT doing it! So even if you decide we won’t jive together, don’t completely put off the idea of maternity photos! You children are going to be the ones who get to look back at these images and cherish the memories made every day after those photos were taken.

Thanks for reading & I hope this helps in your journey to motherhood!

Brenna <3


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page