top of page

A Look Back... My Journey

So.... this is a little embarrassing to show but at one point I was very proud of each session! I can remember those fuzzy warm feelings while editing each image. I was so tickled with myself. This is a reminder of where I started & to never quit trying <3 We all start somewhere...

When I first started out I know I wanted to specialize in newborns but I also tried it all. I quickly learned weddings were NOT for me & I feel like seniors need to be left to those who can understand what the terms fleek and "smh" mean... LOL! I started this photography journey in Spring 2014 after buying my first DSLR Nikon D3100 camera from a fellow photog friend. I jumped into it with these big dreams and no real direction. I watched Ana Brandt's youtube videos over and over. My "studio" was my dining room for the first year and a half. I used a terrible system for lighting or stuck to natural light. I bought every prop I could afford with no real consistent style. I tried to reenact pinterest posts. All with feeling like some big shot. I knew I was nowhere close to good but I was driven to better myself.

If you're just starting out, trust me I've been in your shoes of wishing I could book EVERYONE! I didn't care what it was, I wanted to do it all! I was stressed out beyond belief and it only became worse when I found out I was pregnant with baby #3 just months after getting started. Pregnancy for me is a blissful time but I am also always sick and I suffer from seizures that are brought on more often during pregnancy. I fought through it all to try and be the best I could be. I made a lot of mistakes during those first few months and I risked so much. I made enemies from some of my "competition" BUT in the past two years I have gained some of the most amazingly talented friends that have helped shaped my style. I think finding friends that are in the photography business, or just small business owners in general, are the people who are gonna understand your struggles and achievements. Surrounding yourself with the right tribe can make or break you.

My advice to anyone starting out would have to be dont be afraid to fail! You're gonna hit a lot of bumps in the road. You're gonna want to quit. BUT it will get easier, grow some thick skin because there is always going to be someone trying to break you down either clients or those who see you as a threat to their own business. I can't tell you how many times someone had their panties in a wad over something I have said or wouldn't do, then they try to bash and slander my name left and right. But each time it has taught me a very hard lesson & it helps shape the way I run my business.

Another piece of advice is learn to INVEST IN YOURSELF & know your worth! Yeah we'd all like to be bringing in what people like Sue Bryce or Ana Brandt earn in one session. But that not realistic when you're starting out. You have to build your portfolio and have some trial and error before you can go anywhere. Figure out what will make people feel like they NEED to book you. Invest in some classes depending on style. Don't be afraid to reach out to fellow photographers who do what you'd like to be doing and ask questions, even if they seem dumb. I'm sure we all have wondered the same thing.

My journey is far from over... I will never stop trying to improve! I can't tell you enough how often I prayed to God about where I should be heading with this passion. It's more than just taking pictures for me. Photography has changed me as a person so much. I again am very thankful for those clients who took the leap of faith and allowed me to capture their memories! I can't wait to see where I'm at in another 2 and a half years!

<3

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page